When does it become too much?

Location: Home, living room chair

Date/Time: July 28th 2011, 5:30pm

Now Playing: That 70s Show

When does it become too much? When do I have to say “go to hell” and that’s the end of it?

These are the questions I’m stuck with today. My Mom and I once again got into it. This time however, she called me fat. Now she’s done basically everything else, and I thought that was a bit much but now, it’s different. And I don’t think I’m overreacting in the least.

My Mom and I have gottan into it before about my personality, how I dress and my support for the gay community. Well all in all, none of that is gonna chance. My personality is what it is, and I like it. How I dress is fine, I’m not a shank and I don’t dress like it, nor am I a tight ass. As for my support of the gay community, that’s something more personal to me.

I am not gay first of all. My best friend however is, and my Mom doesn’t seem to understand how I can be friends and support her if she’s gay. This is my Mom’s traditional values coming out. She goes through periods when she’s fine with it and other times when it completely offends her. Now she just doesn’t talk about it.

Today was something new. Today was something I never thought I’d hear her say in my entire life. She called me fat. She told me I needed to start counting calories of what I’m eating and see how much I eat. Now what Mom wants her child to do that if she doesn’t think he or she is fat? Yeah, no Mom.

Now I know I’m not a small girl, never have been. I’m not heavy either. I’m curvy and I have meat on my bones. But for her to imply otherwise was just completely offensive to me. I don’t know how much more I can take.

My Mom was a lot worse when she was depressed but now she’s on medication, so I’m wondering if she didn’t take her meds today. But that’s not the case. She’s taking her meds and she’s still being a bitch to me.

So now, my Dad is involved. He says, that my Mom should apologize, which is true but she wont. So there’s tension in our household. It’s gonna take one more thing out of her mouth and it’s gonna be World War 3 in my house. The only reason I haven’t left now is because I can’t afford it, but I might take the risk if I’m left with no other option.

I don’t know if this is her way of getting me out of the house, but if it is, she’s going about it the wrong way. If this is how I get out of the house, we wont have a relationship. I will not talk to her and I will not be around her. Which will cause tension with my sister, brother and father. However, sometimes things have to be done.

Now my question to all of you is….am I justified in being pissed off at her?

Leave a comment