Bliss by Lauren Myracle – BOOK REVIEW

Location: Home, bedroom

Date/Time: October 25th 2011/5:30pm

Now Playing: Bass Down Low by Dev

Bliss book cover

will cause goose bumps!

 

Bliss by Lauren Myracle doesn’t fail to deliver. I give it a 9 out of 10 stars. There were a lot of little things that I disliked but nothing too major to take away too many points.

Bliss is a girl raised in the 1960s hippie life style. Her parents are hippies who ship her off to her grandmothers, after we can assume they want her to get a good education. She is throw into the “normal” world without so much as a hug goodbye.

Bliss has to learn to adapt to the normal social world and take what she learned as a traveler. She realizes really quickly that both worlds are different but similar.

Bliss makes friends and some enemies when she first starts up at a private school. She also comes to “hear” a voice of a girl who committed suicide on campus. Her new friend Sandy can also hear her and takes that voice too seriously and lets it control her. Bliss has to learn to adapt to a world where “cliques” exist and she has to explain why she talks to whom and who you likes.

The main view for the story of Bliss is to following (in a shorter time period) the trial of Charles Manson and The Tate-LaBianca slayings.  Bliss’ story happens while all of this is in the news.

I think the fact that her life ties into this trial is a creative idea. I think that Charles Manson is first and foremost a psycho and like Lauren Myracle says at the end of the story, A MAN TRULY WITHOUT A SOUL. I think the idea that someone’s life could have a small relation to a trial that big is possible. I believe we all can think of a trial that someone tied into their life. It can be anything, but somehow it related.

The little things that bugged me when I was reading this was that I couldn’t quite read the “Diary” entries. The writing/font used was a bit difficult. I also was a bit confused by all the Andy Griffin quotes too. I saw how a few of them fit but not all of them. Other than that, no complaints.

Lauren Myracle is a genius when it comes to delivering a good story. This is a MUST READ!

One thought on “Bliss by Lauren Myracle – BOOK REVIEW

  1. I blog frequently and I seriously thank you for your information. The article has
    truly peaked my interest. I’m going to bookmark your site and keep
    checking for new details about once per week. I subscribed
    to your Feed too.

Leave a Reply

