Fifty Shades of Casting

If you are like many of people, you have probably read or heard of the Fifty Shades of Grey series. To this, I hope you all at least read it once. These books really are a good read and since all three are out, you can read all three and be done with them (no wait, YAY).

I personally thought the books were a little weird for my taste, but I still enjoyed the read and have read them a couple of times since. While the whole S&M thing is just, (eyebrows raised), the love story is touching. Just give these books a shot if you haven’t read them already.

But anyway, a little thing started at my work. We started a book club, and our first assignment, read the Fifty Shades of Grey series. Only two of us have completed it out of a group of ten (not that surprising). So between the two of us, we have started a little game if you will, on who at work would think would fit the characters (all for a good laugh, promise).

First up, is Mrs. Lincoln(Mrs. Robinson) and we have picked someone who may be a little younger than her in the book, if you saw this lady, you would think dead ringer.

But as we’ve begun to cast people and laugh about it, we have also discussed the idea of who would fit the roles for when they decide to do the movie. After all, it seems to be what a lot of Hollywood is talking about and they like to make books into movies.

The ideas of who we have come up with range from Emma Watson (Harry Potter), Ashley Greene (The Twilight Saga), to Emma Roberts (It’s Kind of a Funny Story) and others for Anastasia. Mrs. Lincoln is a lot more fun, she is either Gwyneth Paltrow (Iron Man) or Claire Holt (The Vampire Diaries). A strong female lead is all we ask for.

Now the tough part, the place we are torn. Who to play Christian Grey? So many hot men to choose from, how do you narrow it down? Well for me I’d pick either Hunter Parrish (guy has experience with a whip, check season 8 of Weeds) or Alex Pettyfer (In Time, Beastly). Both of whom, I’d probably be drooling over. My friend has some different ideas. She says Jude Law or Paul Walker. I think Jude Law is too old for this. Paul Walker, okay I’ll give her that one.

But it is tough on our end, I can’t imagine doing it from Hollywood. And there’s probably a bunch of people wanting the roles too. I just hope they pick the right people and that the story isn’t destroyed.

My main concern for books that are made into movies is that they keep to the storyline the best that they can, when they create something new, I lose it. I like the story the book had, please keep too it. I get they have a time limit but I want it to be followed. I think a lot of people will agree with me too.

Time will tell though, in the mean time, we are having a lot of fun at work picking co-workers for parts. If only they knew!

Leave a Reply

