Weird Things Customers Say in Bookstores by Jen Campbell – Review

If you are like me, you know that a book that makes you really laugh is one to keep a hold of. When I saw Weird Things Customers Say in Bookstores by Jen Campbell, I was intrigued to see what was inside.

cover

I picked a random section of the book and started reading. From the first line, I knew this was one I wanted to add to my bookshelf. And as I continued to read, it was something I couldn’t put down. Funny doesn’t begin to cover what is inside. If you have ever worked with the public (mostly retail) you know that customers can say some really stupid stuff. More importantly, the customer is always asking a stupid question.

This book puts a face to the stupid questions and the stupid things they say. It puts a blunt statement into a book for enjoyment. And if you work with the public, you know that this book is gold.

It gets 10 out of 10 stars for me. I take this rate very subjectively because it’s hard for a book to completely keep me in love with it. But the basic function and form of this book is enough for that rating alone. I honestly want to go through and make a book for the customers I deal with at my work now.

We could make another edition, except for the bookstore part. Below are some of the quotes from customers in the book.

Customer: I’ve been looking through your geography section – I can’t find any books on Atlantis.

Bookseller: You know, I think we managed to lose those.

Customer: Have you read every single book in here?

Bookseller: No, I can’t say I have.

Customer: Well you’re not very good at your job, are you?

Customer: Do you have any second-hand crosswords?

Bookseller: You mean crosswords that have already been filled in?

Customer: Yes. I love crosswords, but they’re ever so difficult.

Customer: I’ve got a lot of books that I want to look through, so I’ve ordered a pizza to eat while I do that. Should I have them deliver it straight to the second floor, or should I meet them at the front desk?

Customer: Are all your books for sale, or just some of them?

Customer: Will you be open so I can buy the new Harry Potter book?

Bookseller:  Yep, we are having a midnight opening.

Customer: Great. What time?

Leave a Reply

