Query of a feeling

I have never been shy when it comes to blogging, tweeting etc. I know what I like and that’s what I do. That being said, I began at the beginning of this year looking into the idea of getting published. It’s a lengthy process.

There’s a lot of work that goes into not only looking into book agencies (you need a book agent to get published) but the writing of a Query letter. I have gone through several drafts of Query letters and honestly, I am probably still going to end up doing more drafts.

The next step is when you find the agent/agency you want to query too, you have to look at submission guidelines. Every is similar but others have different things they want from you. All in all, you better have some spare paper because you need to keep track of this stuff.

Now once you’ve done all of the above and get your nerves under control, time to start sending e-mails. I found that a majority of agencies only do e-mail queries. The go green method is a very popular. I have now sent out three e-mails. Most research I have done has been to keep it at 10 most. I decided to start with a small amount.

It’s less rejection at once, at least that’s how I feel about it. I have written down who i sent queries too, what agencies and the time/date. Most places can take up to 12 weeks to 10 days to get back to you.

And now, it’s the beginning of a wait game. I hope to at least get a response. Most agencies will respond and that’s what I am looking forward too.

Leave a Reply

