Side Effects

I think we all have those moments where we know someone just doesn’t like us. That being said, you are never going to be liked by everyone. This is something they don’t exactly teach you in school and you learn as you go through life. However, I find myself questioning the reason behind a lot of this. I’m all for people not liking me, I am who I am and honestly, if you don’t like me, that’s your issue. I try my best to get along with everyone but at the end of the day, that doesn’t mean it works the other way.

Lately I’ve been dealing with this a lot. I’ve learned that a couple of people don’t like me and are pretty open about it actually too. That being said, I usually like to know the reason, that way I have an idea of how to handle the situation. For some, it’s just a clear dislike of how open I am and that I like to have a good time and laugh. Another reason is that well, I am usually well liked. I have a bright view on things (about 98% of the time) and I try to keep people positive.

The first one is about how well liked I am. She prefers to be the center of the situation and that she has to be well liked compared to everyone else. Well this isn’t working for her. Naturally since I am, she has made it clear that she doesn’t like me and that I’m barely tolerated. Fine, but guess what? We have to work together so you might as well get over it.

I don’t aim to please you. I aim to please myself and to keep myself happy. I will not change for anyone and I will not apologize for being comfortable in my own skin. If you can’t handle it, that’s your issue. And yet somehow there’s still an issue.

The second one (so far, I’m waiting for my tri-fected) just doesn’t even like what I am. I have honestly spoken maybe three words to her and when I say hi, her nose literally shoots up in the air. At that point, I really have nothing nice to say. If you can’t even give the decent hello back, clearly you have some serious issues too.

And this makes me wonder if well, have we forgottan the manner taught to us by our parents. In that regard, are the parents to blame or is it the person still? I have come to learn not only through my parents but friends that you have to be willing to smile through anything. But when it comes to manners, why are we forgetting the basic functions of what they are? Have we grown into a society that it’s a do what you want and be immature and rude to whomever?

This shouldn’t be the case. And I’m honestly offended at the idea that this is even possible. Either way, lets see who is next on the list. It’s a good possibility that it’ll be a girl. Somehow I have the affect. I’m just waiting for the conversation of “You can’t talk to her”. Those are my favorite.

Leave a Reply

