A Little Twitter Situation Update

Alright I promised to keep looking into this matter and I haven’t been given a response. Not that surprising given that they will probably never give me one but I am curious and I want more information. So lets take a look at my response email asking for more information.

This is my response/asking question:

Alright, now I have a question because I’m not quite sure what exactly is up with this. I was suspended for posting in a trending topic? Okay I tweet through the shows and I have been doing it for the past three years (since I joined). And this has never been thrown at me that it’s considered a violation of the Twitter Rules. If tweeting (yes multiply times but all different tweets about what is currently going on in the show) through one of my favorite shows, that has been trending all weekend, is considered “unrelated updates to a trending or popular topic” then isn’t anyone who posts about the whole show in general considered this? I’m not trying to cause trouble or be a pain but I’m just a bit confused how this fits into the category of a violation. Are you basically telling me that I can’t tweet through or about my favorite show? I just need some clarification.

Also, the previous time this happened I did in fact do nothing wrong. The email response I was given (about four days after my account was suspended) said that I was wrongfully flagged in group of people who were actually posting spamming links onto Twitter through the topic. I can actually send a copy of this response.

It seems fair right? I’m merely inquiring that if my tweeting through shows is an issue why all of sudden have I been flagged in a violation. This just doesn’t add up to me. I have been doing this for the three plus years I have been on Twitter and never once has this come up. Now the previous time it happened was a mistake on their end, one that they clearly told me was on their end. Now I’m considering this a mistake on their end again.

The issue I have is that I have now been suspended twice which means if it happens again or whatever reason, my account is gone. Alright now I am seriously peeved about the situation. 3 strikes and you’re out but you aren’t going to consider the matter that the first time it was their problem? No no one! Do you not know me? I’m not going to let this fly and pretend that I did something when I didn’t.

To start with, this is the response I was given after the first time it happened:

Hello,

Twitter has automated systems that find and remove multiple automated spam accounts in bulk. Unfortunately, it looks like your account got caught up in one of these spam groups by mistake.

I’ve restored your account; sorry for the inconvenience.

Please note that it may take an hour or so for your follower and following numbers to return to normal.

Thanks,

Support

Not very much of an apology there but hey, at least they admitted it was on their end. This time around I feel like it’s the same thing and somehow I am the one getting kicked here.

I am on a developers discussion board now attempting to get information on their (runs on Twitter). I am not going to stop until I get the response.

Leave a Reply

