I don’t think it was a “perfect” episode – The Walking Dead – TV Show Review

Alright first things first, I want to get a little point of my own thrown in around this mix of what people are demying the “perfect” episode of The Walking Dead. I’m not saying I’m right or that they are but hey, I think it’s only fair to share my prespective.

*******************************************************************************

Review postings include reviews on TV shows, books, music and movies. Reviews are simply, that reviews. I include information from each section and thus this information may or may not contain spoilers. Please take the warning now, if you don’t wish to see or read any SPOILERS, do not continue reading. If you do continue to reading, disregarding this warning, please don’t blame me if something is ruined for you. I did warn you after all. Also, review postings are my opinion and I stand by them. We may not have the same opinion and thus lets not argue over it.

*******************************************************************************

Alright so during this second half of The Walking Dead season we have been given episodes that don’t show everyone. We see one group and then we see another. It’s been a fish in a barrel game given that the show is presenting the fact that they keep crossing paths with each other just at different times.

“Still” is an episode dedicated to just two people, Daryl and Beth. Now I want to say that these two have been together since the prison and have been trying to not only survive but find the others if possible. Daryl has been quiet most of the time while Beth has been trying to get him to talk. Easier said than done in Daryl’s case.

Anyway, “Still” brings you a side of the two that you may not have seen before. We begin with Beth determined to get a freaking drink of booze. She has never had one before and this is suddenly the time she thinks she needs one, right when they are in the middle of a ton of zombies. This is just a bit ridiculous. I find at this point I’m hoping she’ll get attacked and end up dying. You need to use your head and keep moving, which is exactly what Daryl is trying to do.

Too bad my hope was never met in this episode. We did get to see Beth get a drunk, along with Daryl. We get to see how horrible of a drunk Daryl is and that we learn he didn’t do anything before all of it happened. Something that the other survivors have been trying to figure out for a long time, all Daryl did was follow Merl around. And to this point I wasn’t surprised by this, I figured a long time ago that he didn’t do anything (I don’t read the comics so I’m in the dark).

And can we talk about the sexual tension between these two? I mean Beth is probably 18 on the show (actress much older than that) and Daryl is probably in his late twenties to early thirties. Not too big of an age difference but in the end nothing happens except Beth having to calm a drunk Daryl when he loses his shit. The two are drunk on moonshine after all.

And to end the episode we see Daryl and Beth using the last of the moonshine to burn down the cottage in the woods they were hiding in. Alright again I want to stress that there are zombies running crazy in the woods and it’s in the middle of the flipping night. Not only that these two are still clearly feeling the moonshine they have been drinking. And we burn the house? Hello huge fire ball of light to attract any zombie within miles of that place. Way to be smart on your feet there guys.

 

Overall this episode is pretty boring. There’s a few close calls with walkers and like I said before, I was wishing Beth would just get bit so we could just skip this “need for a drink” part. I wouldn’t say the episode is perfect, it was just simple. There was no real excitement and no surprising reveal. It was exactly as the episode is titled “Still”. And if that was the point, good job you nailed it.

This episode definitely wasn’t my favorite of this second half. I give it 5 out of 10 stars.

Leave a Reply

