Another step in the right direction

It’s been quite a long journey for me. I find that I spend a lot more time in silence lately than I have been talking. I am in a funk you could say. I find that my silence allows me to really consider what is happening around me. I get comments like “you’re so quiet” and “is everything alright?”, and I reply I’m good, just thinking. This is very true on both accounts.

Why do people think that if you’re quiet something must be wrong? Can’t you simply just want to be a quiet environment or that you are really listening to what they are saying before speaking? There’s so many questions to consider if you keep quiet for a minute.

Again, I’m in a bit of a funk. I think it’s because I have a new job at work (same place, promotion) and while I am still learning how to do things (I maybe have a day of training) I’ve been told I’m doing a good job. I get to step back from dealing with customers and I get to really focus on what needs to be done. This can work for me in a good and bad way. I find it bad because I’ve lost a lot of my patience with people when it comes to them asking questions. Mostly when they are stupid questions. But I am still trying to keep it together.

That being said I have a bit of an issue with a few of my new co-workers. Not really a few more like two but hey, I’m doing my best in that area. And one of them actually apologized for being a dick so I look at that as a good thing. The other one however needs to be knocked down a peg or two. I am seriously wondering where this all started and it’s become clear to me that many people feel the same way. Just needs to get a more level head and take it out of the clouds.

However, I am also finishing up another semester of college. That being said big changes are in store. I am graduating with my Associates in Web Design and then I am moving onto Davenport University for my bachelors in Web Design. These are some big changes for me. I’ve spent the past five years down here at GRCC, it’s going to be quite a change for me to go a four year college. I am excited and a little nervous at the same time. But I am keeping myself calm (trying too anyway) and looking forward.

I am still writing, I didn’t realize how little I was doing it (about twice a week) compared to what I am doing it now. My voice in my head seems to be much louder than usual (stress) and it’s been a great comfort to just let the world fade away and create my own. I still want to get published, but I am still getting rejected (part of the game). I will keep trying, just as I will keep writing no matter if my name gets into print or not.

Never give up on your dreams, for if you do, you have given up on what it means to live.

One thought on “Another step in the right direction

  1. Howdy I am so delighted I found your site, I really found you by
    error, while I was browsing on Aol for something else, Regardless I am
    here now and would just like to say many
    thanks for a fantastic post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t
    have time to browse it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep
    up the superb jo.

Leave a Reply

