More Bat then Super – Batman vs. Superman – Movie Review

poster.jpg

I want to first my stating this, because I know if I don’t someone will bite my head off about it later in the comments. I will be posting spoilers. This review will have spoilers. SPOILERS. SPOILERS. Now that you have been warned, if you keep reading, it’s your fault, I warned you.

When I first heard about this movie, I was more interested on if I could be an extra, after all it was shooting in Michigan. I applied, and unfortunately my college classes got in the way. So that didn’t happen. However, doesn’t mean I didn’t keep up with it. After seeing the trailer, I had mixed feelings on it. It didn’t look horrible but I was curious as to how the storyline would play out. I’m not a comic book reader, I have read a few but I have no personal experience with this story line or how it all plays out. Except in this terms, I know these two battle and in turn, with Wonder Woman, form the Justice League. Simple enough.

“We know better now, don’t we? Devils don’t come from hell beneath us. They come from the sky.” – Lex Luthor

To quickly roll this through, before I dive in. Batman vs. Superman is directed by Zach Snyder (Man of Steel and Watchmen). Batman (played by Ben Afflect, Gone Girl and Argo) and Superman (played by Henry Cavill, The Tudors and Man of Steel) battle. Batman aka Bruce Wayne doesn’t think Superman is the hero he is made out to be, and a lot of people agree. Superman aka Clark Kent has to learn to balance his hero life with this domestic life with Louis Lane (played by Amy Adams, American Hustle and Enchanted). Unfortunately, Lex Luthor (played by Jesse Eisenberg, The Social Network and Now You See Me) is either bored or just is simply insane and wants to see these two duke it out, all the while creating what is known as the “Doomsday monster”, which just looks like a huge mud creature with some pokey bones coming through its skin and a total rip off from The Lord of the Rings movie (don’t believe me, check the image below). And then boom, Wonder Woman (played by Gal Gadot, Fast Five and Fast and the Furious 6) shows up and saves the boys. In the end, Superman sacrifices himself and saves everyone.

                Really quite depressing of a movie actually. You start with Bruce Wayne’s story, his parents’ death how he ended up where he is now. Not much except a man with too much money and looking for revenge. The only reality to him is Alfred (played by Jeremy Irons, The Lion King and Dead Ringers) who even at his age has managed to make this Bat suit and Bat mobile. Meanwhile, he’s hunting Superman down, while the government is trying to decide how they will handle Superman. As if they would someone be able to do that and in the end turn to Lex for guidance since he has been doing research on the aliens that came after Superman.

ww

Lex Luthor is more of a crazy, manic want to be hipster who seriously needs to brush his hair. He has some serious Daddy issues and ticks that can’t go unnoticed. Sure, Jesse sells the roll but mostly I just wanted someone to slap the bijous out of him. And I want to also point out, that no one who has been doing research on the ship has been able to figure it out but he wants in and in less than two minutes has the thing following his commands and basically creating a monster for him.

                “You’re psychotic.” – Louis Lane

“That is a three syllable word for any thought too big for little minds.” – Lex Luthor

The movie runs for 153 minutes, which is about 45 too many in my opinion. I’m all for long movies but if you don’t entertain me for that entire time, I’m going to start to get annoyed. The movie is depressing. You see Superman questioning everything he is, even though he says to Louis that she is his world. You see him talking with his dead Father, and then getting his ass kicked by Batman who has managed to find some Kryptonite and weaponized it. You get to see 2 of the other Justice League members except it’s about a minute a piece and then they are gone. There was time for Aquaman to appear to help in a couple of scenes, which would have made things more interesting. The only saving grace for this movie is Wonder Woman. There is no humor, not even an attempt and the sexual tension between Wonder Woman and Batman is clear, guess they’re going that route, thought she was supposed to have a thing for Superman.

Anyway, you may be thinking I hated the movie. I didn’t hate it. I didn’t think it was something I wanted to see again, I’m all for the DVD, I’d like to see if Snyder’s cut is different/better but even then I’m hesitant because of Watchmen. I don’t think it was wow, I want to really see that again. And I was hoping for a better ending. You’re left with the sadness of Superman’s death, even though we all know he’s alive for the Justice League. Like I’ve stated a few times, the movie is depressing.

                “Even you’ve got too old to die young, not for lack of trying.” – Alfred

Maybe I am more of a Marvel person, or maybe I just simply have a way I like to see Superhero movies go but honestly, this movie is not like them. If it wants to compete with Marvel on a level, it needs to step up its game. I’m excited to See Wonder Woman’s movie, I never doubted that Gal could pull her off. However, if I really think about it too, this was definitely more of a Batman movie then it was a combination movie. I’m pretty sure that Superman only has like 20 lines in the entire thing. If you haven’t seen it yet, count it for me will you and let me know the exact because I can’t be that far off. I give it 8 out of 10 stars. And that’s more for Wonder Woman and that Jesse’s Lex just was annoying enough to make me like him and want to slap him at the same time. If it hadn’t been for them, it would be 6 out of 10.

3bss.jpg

Leave a Reply

