9/11 – 15 years later – Documentary – Movie Review

We all know what happened. We all know where we were when it happened. We all know we will never forget 9/11. The United States was forever changed that day. I was almost 11, home sick with the stomach flue when this happened. I was resting on the couch in the living room, watching TV (ER reruns) and suddenly the show went off and popped onto the TV was the picture of one of the two towers on fire. Unconfirmed reasoning and shock was already spreading and it had only happened moments before.

towers

I was in shock. I was scared and I didn’t understand. I called my Mom, she had just found out what happened. She told me to turn off the TV and she would call me back in five minutes. Phones were ringing off the hook at her work and my siblings and my Dad were also calling. She knew I was safe and need to check one everyone else. I didn’t turn off the TV. I kept watching. I kept seeing and I remember watching the second plane hit and screaming. At that moment I knew we were under attack. It struck me that this wasn’t an accident. At my young age, I knew what was happening. Here I am sick with something so small as the stomach flu and people are literally fighting for their lives in New York. It’s forever burned into my mind.

It’s scary to think about. It’s scary to remember. When I watch specials on what happened, with information on the people who did it, how the plan was started and executed and how we have changed in order to make sure something like this doesn’t happen again, it still makes me jump watching the planes hit, watching people scream. It’s not easy and I understand why people don’t want to watch it. My Mom refuses to watch the footage and my Dad can only take a little bit before he has seen enough. For me, I watch because I want to know. I want to see the evil that these people were, why they did it and to know that the lives lost that day weren’t and have not been forgotten.

When it came to the CNN special, one that gave you footage inside of Tower 1 lobby, it was a shocking different perspective. And it’s scary at the same time. I still watched and I know a lot of other people did. 9/11 – 15 Years Later on CNN takes you into the documentary of the day the attack occurred, by two not well know film makers and how they never expected that their film into the 9 month probation period of a new fireman would take them into a different direction.

flag

You see how they chose the guy, how their film started out basic and how a simple run in the morning on 9/11 turned so dramatically and how one of the directors did get the 1st plane hitting Tower 1 on film. You hear some dramatic and graphic things, the film itself warns you of these and examples a lot of the sounds and things occurring by the directors, the other firemen in the film and others involved in the rescue that day. It’s a film that again, isn’t easy to watch but needs to be. This documentary without a question, shows the bravery of the firemen, the police, the emergency workers and all those in the towers. It’s a moving film. It gets a perfect score, 10 out of 10.

I want to end this post with some maybe hard to take in facts for some people. But they need to be read and seen.

  1. On September 11, 2001, nearly 3,000 people were killed, 400 were police officers and firefighters, in the terrorist attacks at the World Trade Center in NYC, at the Pentagon building in Washington, D.C., and in a plane crash near Shanksville, PA.
  2. 9/11 was not the first terrorist attack on the World Trade Center. A bombing in February of 1993 killed six people.
  3. On any given workday, up to 50,000 employees worked in the WTC twin towers, and an additional 40,000 passed through the complex.
  4. After the September 11th attacks on the World Trade Center, the rescue and recovery clean-up of the 1.8 million tons of wreckage from the WTC site took 9 months.
  5. Passengers aboard United Flight 93, heard about the previous airplane attacks and attempted to retake control of the plane from hijackers. As a result, the hijackers dilberately crashed the plane in a Pennsylvania field instead of at their unknown target.
  6. While video accounts of the WTC attack aired immediately, no video footage of the Pentagon attack was publicly released until 2006.
  7. Though both the police and fire departments of New York City had their own emergency response procedures, the two departments did not have a coordinated response plan to a major incident.
  8. In 2001, New York City fire evacuation procedures only required mandatory evacuations for floors immediately surrounding a fire. After a plane struck Building 1 of the WTC, Building 2 employees were initially told to stay in the building.
  9. The attack on the World Trade Center on 9/11 resulted in the largest loss of life by a foreign attack on American soil.
  10. 18 people were rescued alive from the rubble of the World Trade Center site.
  11. Cases of post-traumatic stress are common among 9/11 survivors and rescue workers. Respiratory problems, like asthma and lung inflammation, also developed at abnormal rates for those in and around the World Trade Center during and after the attacks.

Other Related Sites:

Leave a Reply

