It’s a curious thing

Alright so as part of my goals for 2017 is to find a better job. This is of course easier said then done. I have been trying to do this for the past year, since I graduated in 2015. Now I’m going to temp services in order to see if they can help me. The first one I went too (I wont say the name) said we had to start with my resume, getting to a “fresh” state for job applications.

I’m all for it. I know it’s probably outdated and since schools and colleges don’t teach you how to do one on your own, you have to look online and hope for the best. This is one thing I really wish high schools and colleges would teach people. I had one class that I had to do a mock one for an assignment and that’s basically where mine came from. So yes, it’s outdated. Anyway, I did the work he needed from me for the new one, he put it together and then emailed it to me. Now, at this point I’m expecting to be sent out for interviews. The catch, well he doesn’t have any positions in my field for me to go out on, which is the exact opposite of what he told me the week before. Yes, you read that correctly. It took him a week to get back to me after I completed what needed to be done.

This should’ve been the first red flag. However, I’ve never been to a temp service before and I know I’m not the only person they’re helping. So I let it go. After hearing that, well I guess I need to find a new temp services. This is exactly what I did. Found one, I have a meeting set up the following week. So now today I get an email from the original person telling me he has a positions that would suit me. So I replied asking about the job and then, he tells me he can’t offer me the job. Yes, he takes the offer back. I can’t make this up even if I wanted too, I have the emails to prove it. He took the offer back because the current place I work at is one of their biggest clients and he basically would be taking me away from them for this new positions.

First of all, my current job doesn’t own me. I’m not going to let someone tell me I can’t leave for a better job because of them. Second, why would you offer me a job then take it back when I’m actually interested? Third, do you know how to do your job because I’m questioning everything you’ve said and done for me at this point. The happy outcome, you told me what the position was and for what company so I went and applied on their company website myself. I’ll skip the middle man. We’ll just wait to see what happens.

It’s a curious thing when someone is supposed to help you get a job but isn’t willing to do it because of where you currently work. At least I’m working, there’s quite a few people my age who are not. I’ve been working all through college. I’m not struggling to pay my bills because of that student loan payment. Seriously though, before I went to University for my year and half, I never had a loan. I paid for college out of pocket. I worked my butt off to do this but I did it all the same. Now I’m about 14k in the hole for that year and a half of college. I know it’s nothing compared to some people I know but to me, that’s a lot of money. I could really use a lottery win right now.

I’m hoping this new temp service will be able to help me. The person I talked to seemed much more edger to help and seemed to know what she was doing. I’m hoping it works out. I did all of her requests before the meeting yesterday so I’m ahead of the game. I’m looking forward to that next week and then my family trip too. It’s going to be a blast taking the little ones to the water park and staying wit them all weekend. I’m really looking for the break.

Leave a Reply

