A Dog’s Purpose

A_Dog's_Purpose_(film).jpg

I’m a sucker for animal movies. The only downside for me is that I have to bring a handful of tissues with me to the theater because no matter what they make me cry. A Dog’s Purpose is not an exception to that rule, in fact I told people to bring tissues shortly after I saw it. My Dad was even crying. It goes straight to the heart especially if you have/had a dog.

This was me, and then this was me, then I came back as this little guy. A lot of lives for one dog to live, but I’m getting ahead of myself. Let’s start at the beginning. For me it all began with a boy, his name was Ethan.” – Bailey

A Dog’s Purpose moves through the same dog, living several different lives. The man question he keeps asking through the movie is what is the meaning of life? Why was he here? And throughout his lives and the humans he has come to know and love, he learns all about that. Bailey is who we can call him, even though he has different names throughout each of his lives. Bailey learns the hard lives that some boys lives and how sometimes things at home are not what they seem.

“I had a purpose. I was needed again, and again, and again. With each new life I was learning a new lesson.” – Bailey

Bailey and his boy Ethan, meet when Ethan and his mom save Bailey from a hot car. Bailey quickly becomes Ethan’s closest friend and follows him everywhere. He goes through several tough situations with Ethan, with his abusive father and his first love. Bailey even helps save Ethan and his Mom after a kid at Ethan’s school decides to take his anger out in the worst way, burning down Ethan’s house. Ethan however is getting older and has to continue on his life and when he leaves for college, he is forced to leave Bailey behind. Bailey doesn’t understand and you see Bailey get older and start showing his age while Ethan is away. Eventually the time has come and Bailey has to be put down. And then we start a new life.

adp

Each life that Bailey lives he is helping his owner. He is a cop dog who saves his owner’s life. He is a little dog who helps his owner find love while also finding it himself. And in each time, he’s hoping to find that one person who can help him get back to Ethan. He is starting to slowly remember when he is abandoned after an owner got tired of him (which is way more common then you think). He is also to do that by finding a scent that is familiar to him, it’s the scent of Ethan’s former girlfriend Hannah. Bailey is also to make it back to Ethan but he is a different dog of course. Ethan takes him in, calling him “Buddy”. They quickly fall into the same routine but Bailey wants Ethan to know its him, that he’s not “Buddy” but Bailey.

adp2

A Dog’s Purpose is a family movie that I high recommend you see if you have/had a dog. It shows you the loyalty that dogs give us even when we don’t deserve it. It shows how cruel people can be to their animals. It shows that a dog is a huge responsibility and should never be taken lightly. It’s a story about friendship, love and support from the best friend a man or woman can have. I give it 10 out of 10 stars.

Other Reviews:

Leave a Reply

